Please click on a question’s link to open the answer provided.

The IATC is a practical, professional training course for agency-based student counsellors developed by ICEF and delivered in cooperation with PIER. The course is available online and free of charge to agency student counsellors in a self-paced modular format. Related testing sessions occur at ICEF Workshops and also at the counsellor’s location via an internet connected computer. Participants who complete the formal IATC test successfully will be issued with a certificate, certifying them as an ICEF Trained Agent Counsellor (ITAC).

Candidates who successfully pass the IATC formal test will obtain the status of ICEF Trained Agent Counsellor (ITAC) and their name and agency details are listed on an ICEF Trained Agent Registry.

PIER – Professional International Education Resources – is a web-based portal providing information and training to individuals involved in international education. It consists of a substantial database of resources and news, and the PIER training courses. PIER links to relevant websites across the field of international education globally. PIER offers:

  • Access to formal qualifications through a suite of competency-based courses at diploma and certificate III level.
  • A growing database of information
  • Access to professional networks worldwide
  • News of professional development opportunities and conferences.

PIER also assists in connecting people across organisations and professional networks. The Education Agent Training Course (EATC) is contained within the wider group of PIER courses for international education professionals. The Education Agent Training Course (EATC) is specifically aimed at education agents who counsel and refer students to study in Australia. It is contained within the wider group of PIER courses for international education professionals, and is offered in partnership with Australia Education International (AEI) and the Australian Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC). The PIER courses – diploma to certificate programmes in International Education Services – have been successfully delivered since July 2006. For more information on the EATC and PIER courses, click here.

An internet-enabled and connected computer with an up-to-date web browser, Adobe Reader, and a Flash Player programme installed (PIER recommends using Adobe Flash Player). Minimum system requirements:

  • Windows® Macintosh Linux®
  • Intel® Pentium® II 450MHz or faster processor (or equivalent)
  • PowerPC® G3 500MHz or faster processor
  • Intel Core™ Duo 1.33GHz or faster processor
  • 800MHz or faster processor
  • 512MB of RAM, 128MB of graphics memory
  • Click here for free Adobe Reader download
  • Click here for free Adobe Flash Player download

To access the information and course materials of the IATC, there is no cost; interested participants simply need to register (free of charge).

The cost of the IATC test, i.e., formal assessment, is €250.

It consists of 50 multiple-choice questions to be answered in an 80-minute timeframe. Candidates will not be tested on individual country information/regulations; only on all the other sections of the course. They can use personal notes or consult the IATC course online during the test. However, they will not be allowed to phone anyone or ask other people for assistance.

There are two ways to take the test:

  • At an ICEF Workshop (see testing schedule here). If you are planning to attend a Workshop, please send us an email to reserve your place as soon as possible. You do not necessarily need to be registered for an ICEF Workshop to take the test; you may come just for the test and all you need is photo identification (e.g., passport) and a wireless-enabled laptop.
  • Online from the comfort of your home or office at a time convenient for you (all you need is an Internet-enabled computer with a webcam and an Adobe Flash player; please download here).

For both testing options, please email to reserve your testing slot.

In both cases, the charge for the test is €250, which allows you to have 3 attempts. Meaning if you do not pass on your first attempt, you still have 2 more chances to become qualified.

To prepare for the formal IATC test, we recommend that you take the self-assessment (see the right-hand bar on your IATC home page after login). This self-assessment test is identical in structure to the formal test. Each question has only one correct answer, and all questions are based on the IATC course which you have studied.

At the end of the self-assessment, you will receive your result. We encourage only those who pass the self-assessment to attempt the formal test. The pass mark is 80%. Until you have reached a good result on the self-assessment, please keep practising.

We designed the self-assessment as a practise exercise for ITAC candidates, so they can increase their odds of passing the formal test the first time they sit for it.

The person who takes the test will be certified and receive the ITAC Designation (ICEF Trained Agent Counsellor) with a certificate and a personal ITAC number. This person will continue being certified even if he/she changes jobs/agencies.

There is no expiry for the IATC Certification. If the course is updated or upgraded, ITACs will be notified via email.

If you have taken the test either online or at an ICEF Workshop, you will be automatically notified as soon as you have finished your test and your ITAC Certificate and ITAC Nr will be emailed to you instantly.

Yes, there is a testing fee regardless of whether you pass or fail.

When you sign up for the test and pay the fee of 250€ you have up to three opportunities to successfully compete the test.

Yes, anyone interested in ITAC Certification and recognition can take the test.

Testing is not mandatory. You can also study the course for your personal enrichment and professional knowledge. There is also no timeframe in which you must take the formal test after completing the online material. If you wish to take the formal test and receive the ITAC Designation, please try (and pass) the self-assessment test first.